13072017 / Singapore 2017 Day 1 | Part 2

As mentioned in my previous blog entry, my notebook memory card reader broke down few days ago but it had miraculously recovered. I was able to transfer the pictures stored in my memory card into my notebook but I was too tired to blog regularly while in Singapore. So, here I am now starting from where I left off.

I had dinner with Andrea at Platform 1094 on my first day in Singapore. We agreed to meet each other at the cafe itself instead of meeting at a certain point. Andrea did suggest that we meet somewhere and commute to Platform 1094 together but I had other plan in mind. I told her that I would meet her at Platform 1094 as I wanted to learn map reading.

So, I left Carlton Hotel earlier and took Bus 857 from Capitol Building which brought me straight to the nearest bus stop of Platform 1094. I made a few mistakes with the directions on the way but I managed to reach Platform 1094 safe and sound.

If you are wondering what is so special about Platform 1094, here is a bit of information. Platform 1094 is a Harry Potter inspired theme cafe located on Serangoon Road. Andrea arrived slightly later as she was caught up with some office work. Despite it being a weekday, the cafe was crowded and reservation was required beforehand to avoid disappointment. Andrea made us the reservation beforehand.

PLATFORM 1094
1094 Serangoon Road, Singapore 328192

The cafe was decorated in wizardry theme with almost Harry Potter alike music playing in the background. The background music was slightly too loud in my opinion but it could be because we were seated at the back whereby the speakers were located nearby. The cafe provided “magical” tools like robes, wands, hats and so on which you could play with for photography purpose.

Mrs. Lich Butterscotch Ale | S$10

I was intrigued to try the famous Butterbeer which Harry, Ron and Hermione would order when they made a visit to Leaky Cauldron in Hogsmeade. But unfortunately, it was not exactly stated on the menu which one was Butterbeer and Andrea thought that the closest one would be Mrs. Lich Butterscotch Ale.

Mrs. Lich Butterscotch Ale was made with cream soda (I think) topped with a generous layer of what I presumed to be vanilla cream? It was pretty refreshing at first but could be a bit sickening if having too much. I only managed to finish off half of it.

Pesto Mayo Pork Ribs | S$22

butter-cream poached pork ribs drizzled with pesto mayo, served with grilled vegetables, corn, pickled beetroot and mango mustard espuma

Andrea and I decided to share a main course as she was not feeling hungry at the time. So, we chose this Pesto Mayo Pork Ribs which came with two pieces of pork ribs served with some mixed vegetables. I loved the onion rings! The meat on the pork ribs was pretty tender in my opinion. However, I got quite a fair share of the fatty parts though.

After dinner, both Andrea and I walked to the nearest bus stop and off we headed to Bugis for Ah Chew Desserts. The queue was not very long and we managed to secure a table for two shortly after. Ah Chew Desserts is always full of patrons enjoying desserts after dinner.

AH CHEW DESSERTS
#01-11 Liang Seah Place 1, Liang Seah Street, Singapore 189022

Durian Mango Sago with Pomelo | S$5.40

This is my favorite dessert at Ah Chew Dessert which I never failed to order everytime I visit. It came with generous portions of diced mangoes, sago, pomelo and durian flesh. Both Andrea and I left the place shortly after we finished our desserts as I started to feel the exhaustion from the early wake up in the morning for my flight.

So, this pretty much summed the second part of my first day in Singapore. Do stay tune for more if you are interested.

 

Leave a comment