Review: Meritz Hotel, Miri

I stayed for a night at Meritz Hotel on my last weekend getaway trip to Miri. I would usually stay at Imperial Hotel but I expected that I will be having transportation issue, hence I booked myself for a night stay at Meritz Hotel instead since it’s at a very strategic location. The reasons why I chose Meritz Hotel were because it was located in Bintang Megamall whereby most of the major shops are located in. I could do shopping very easily even if I were to go Boulevard Shopping Complex. Public transportation is easily accessible. Nearest bus stop is like 200metres away from Meritz Hotel.

I called in to Meritz Hotel one week before I was due to go Miri to reserve for a standard room. It was priced at RM220 for walk-in customers. Later that day, I checked both Agoda and Meritz Hotel own website. And I found out that Meritz Hotel is doing a grand opening promotion whereby you can get a Superior Room at the price of RM160 only and it’s inclusive of all taxes and surcharges but under two conditions, which you have to book from their own website and it must be paid via PayPal. If you called in to reserve a room, it will be RM220 even though it’s for the same date and the same room.

Told friend about this deal but he told me that his credit card had yet being verified by PayPal. Told him that I used to have a PayPal account but couldn’t remember the user ID and pin. Then I remembered that Sister has a PayPal account. She agreed to book for me with her PayPal account but it will have to wait till the next day. Out of no choice, I decided to create another PayPal account with my current debit card. Registration was successful and I booked for a Superior Room with Meritz Hotel instantly. Called back Meritz Hotel to cancel my call-in reservation coz I have booked myself a room from their website.

I haven’t got any picture of their lobby and dining areas but only the room itself. I booked for a Superior King bedroom at the rate of RM160 per night, which is considering cheap with it’s location and the size of the room.

DSCF6769

I was being given Room 1212 on my previous stay. It’s quite far from the guest lifts, I would say. Maybe about 30 seconds walk. Upon entering the room, you would be greeted by a tiny hallway with the bathroom on your left and a big vanity mirror on the right. And they even provided a digital scale in the room. Majority hotels in Miri only provide the standard kind of scale, but Meritz Hotel provided digital scale. Room access key is the card type which you have to scan it before you enter the room. I prefer those card keys which you can scan instead of those manual type whereby you have to insert into the slot provided and wait for the sign to go yellow in color before you are allowed into the room.

DSCF6778

The bathroom was big enough for me. No drawer compartment though but I liked the idea that they even provided a laundry basket at the side of the sink counter. Majority of the hotels which I had stayed before doesn’t come with a laundry basket for you to put your dirty laundry or towels. Hair dryer was provided as well and a telephone was installed right side on the wall of the toilet bowl.

DSCF6780

Vanity kit drawer compartment which you can find sanitary bag, shower cap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and some vanity kit. Majority hotels would just place these things on top of a tray or something, but I liked the idea that they stored away these things in a small drawer compartment. Made it sound more hygienic.

DSCF6779

Friend stayed at Meritz Hotel as well last weekend but in another different room. He said that my room looked much more nicer compared to his. He was given a bathtub instead of a shower cubicle. Told him that I requested for the bathroom to come with a shower cubicle instead of bathtub. To be honest, I don’t like bathtub at all. I find it a hassle to climb in and out. And the floor of a bathtub could be slippery sometimes if you are not careful enough. Furthermore, I don’t like water spraying out of the bathtub even if a shower curtain is provided.

DSCF6795

Liked the shower head as the power of the water coming out from the head is strong. Hand held shower head was provided as well.

DSCF6783

Booked for a Superior King Bedroom, which it came with a king sized bed. I used to like sleeping on a single bed but a few friends of mine told me it’s better to book for a king size bed when staying in a hotel alone. Hahaha … If you were superstitious enough, you would know what I am referring to. The bed is comfortable enough and the duvet is quite thick. But unfortunately, the air-condition is not cool enough until very late. Friend had left the air-condition switched on before he left my room but it wasn’t even cool when I went back later in the afternoon.

DSCF6784

A 32″ plasma LCD TV was provided in the room as well. Channels provided were more or less the same like any other hotels but better. Alan said the channels provided were still boring but at least they were better than what’s provided at Imperial Hotel.

DSCF6803

I was being given the view of the swimming pool when looking down from my room’s window. Both Alan and friend said that they saw a naked kiddy boy walking around the swimming pool and wondered if the boy is gonna swim in the swimming pool. But thank God, the kid did not swim in the swimming pool or else, I am pretty sure that he will pee in the pool.

DSCF6804

Mega Hotel and Imperial Hotel can be seen from my room’s window.

Each room will be given two coupons for complimentary breakfast buffet at Grand Old Lady, which is located on the 17th floor of the hotel. Majority people had said that the breakfast buffet served were just average. To be honest, I think what they said were true. Breakfast selections were like any other hotels but their Curry Noodle was good. The broth was flavorful enough with mild spiciness. I only had a chicken sausage, a couple of baked tomatoes, some black pepper chicken and Curry Noodle. Food was just average but the ambiance is good.

So, here comes the part of what I think of the hotel itself.

I liked the location of the hotel as it’s located in the city centre and inside Bintang Megamall. Bintang Megamall is considered the biggest shopping mall in the entire Miri town whereby you can shop a lot there especially when it comes to skincare products. Parkson carries quite a lot of famous international brands of skincare products. Easy accessible to the other shopping malls via the public transportation. The nearest bus stop is just about 200metres away. Room amenities were sufficient enough and the room was clean. You don’t have to worry about where to park your car as there is a basement parking for all hotel guests for free. Check in and out was a brisk and the reception staffs were helpful and friendly. Free room WiFi was provided for all guests but you would have to loan a portable pocket modem router from the reception for RM120 as deposit which would be refunded back to you upon check out provided that you show them your receipt.

And now comes the bad part. Despite basement car park was provided for hotel guests, but it’s shared with customers of Bintang Megamall. There is no allocated area solely for the guests of Meritz Hotel. Like the other day, we had to park our car quite far away from the entrance of the guest lift. Traffic is a very big problem if you are staying at Meritz Hotel especially during weekends. You are quite likely to be stuck at the road entrance coming into Bintang Megamall for about 15 minutes the least. Both coming in and out is a hassle especially during peak hours! During our stay last weekend, one of the three guest lifts broke down. And most of the time, we would have to wait for an average 5 minutes before the guest lift would arrive. And what pissed me off the most is that the guest lift would stop at about all floors before you could arrive at your intended destination.

Meritz Hotel
Bintang Megamall
Jalan Miri-Pujut,
98000, Miri,
Sarawak,
East Malaysia.
Tel: +6 085 417888
Website: http://www.meritzhotel.com

2 thoughts on “Review: Meritz Hotel, Miri

  1. Is it a 4-stars hotel? Wow that’s a good deal. RM 160 for a superior room is so damn worthy! How about the standard room’s price? I miss going to Miri lol. I went there last 2010 & that’s it xD I’m sure there’s a lot undiscovered new skincare gems, hiding in the shopping mall *sobs*. Didn’t get to explore much when i went there x’\

    • Yeah .. According to Agoda, it is a 4-stars hotel. But the RM160 deal is only temporary from now onwards until the end of this month as they are currently having Grand Opening Promotion. Normal hotel room price for a Superior Room is RM220 inclusive of taxes and surcharges.

      Meritz Hotel’s Superior Room is like any other hotels’ standard room. Superior Room is the most basic room that they have followed by Deluxe Room, if I am not wrong.

      I don’t see much new skincare brands in Miri though this time. Most of them were the basic skincare brands that we often see like Kose, Shiseido, Estee Lauder, Lancome, SK-II, Kanebo, Clarins, Biotherm, L’oreal, KATE, The Face Shop, Skin Food and Tony Moly.

      I guess Sasa might interest you though. I don’t like Sasa in Miri though. It’s so small and stuffy. It’s even worse at Guardian. You can see cartons of goods placed on the floor and they basically blocked all the walkways. Couldn’t even find a product properly without tripping over if you are not careful enough.

Leave a comment