Review: Kose Sekkisei Essence Mask

As I promised yesterday, here comes my skincare product review on Kose Sekkisei Essence Mask. I got this as a Gift With Purchase (GWP) when I requested Alan to get me a bottle of Kose Sekkisei Lotion 500ml from Kose, Boulevard Hypermarket in late May. Boulevard Hypermarket was doing a promotion back then whereby you could get RM20 gift vouchers if you purchase more than RM120 and Kose was included in the deal. And of course, I would jump at the deal since Kose was selling their Sekkisei Lotion 500ml for RM298 only when 360ml is already selling for RM255.

Without further ado, let’s start my skincare product review on Kose Sekkisei Essence Mask.

DSCF0732

As usual, majority of Kose Sekkisei range of products come in blue packaging. I don’t remember seeing any of Kose Sekkisei range of products that does not comes in blue packaging. This particular essence mask aims to improve skin complexion and at the same time, hydrates your skin as well.

DSCF1047

The texture of the sheet mask is a lot thicker than the other brand of sheet masks which I had used previously. Albeit it being thick, I like it that it was able to fit onto my skin perfectly and the essence was hold up properly. It doesn’t go all dripping wet during application. The cotton sheet mask was pre-soaked with 15ml of Sekkisei whitening essence and herbal moisturizers which promise intensive care for a radiant and supple skin.

According to the usage instruction at the back of the packaging, you use it on a clean face. And for the past few days, I had been using Elizabeth Arden White Glove Extreme Skincare Clarifying Foam Cleanser as my general facial cleanser, followed by Kose Seikisho Clear Lotion and Kose Sekkisei Lotion. After I am done with my usual toning routine, I applied the said sheet mask onto my face and leave it there for about 10 – 15 minutes. But I think I left it longer like about 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes or so, I can see that majority essence on the sheet mask had been absorbed onto my skin. And my skin wasn’t that wet compared to when I am using some other brands of sheet masks. It only took me like about 10 seconds to pat dry the remaining essence onto my face. I did not follow with my usual skincare routine after taking off the said mask from my face. I just leave it like that and went to bed.

The reason why I was doing that was because the essence left on the skin was the goodies of the sheet mask. So, there’s no need to apply anymore skincare product later on. That’s what the BA at Elizabeth Arden told me. So, I did as followed. I could indeed see that my skin was more supple and moisturized on the next morning and application of skincare products was smoother than usual. My skin complexion indeed looked more glowing and fairer on the next morning.

Pros:
1. Doesn’t go dripping wet during application.
2. Sheet mask texture was thick but it was able to fit onto my face properly.
3. Essence was absorbed onto my skin when I removed the sheet mask off my face.
4. Skin felt more moisturized and supple the next morning.
5. Skin complexion looked more glowing and fairer the next morning.
6. Application of skincare products was smoother the next morning.

Cons:
1. Steep price.
2. Kose counter not available in Brunei.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

Price: RM211 (A box of 6 pieces)

Repurchase? Wanted to, but the price is putting me off.

Leave a comment