Dinner @ Koryo Restaurant

Had dinner with Joo Sie today evening after work. It was drizzling when I set out from office. Thank God that it did not rain as heavy as yesterday evening. Driving in bad weather was extremely horrifying. I actually invited her to Ikura Sushi Restaurant in the first place but thinking that Gadong Central is gonna be jammed with cars in the evening, I suggested going to Koryo Restaurant instead since I had been craving for their Kimchi Jeon for quite some time. We met up at 8:00p.m. in the evening instead of the usual 7:30p.m. as I needed to head over to Standard Chartered Bank, Manggis Mall to settle my credit card bill.

Anyways, let’s cut story short and start with the food pictures. I think we both ordered too much to the extent that the waiter asked if we will be able to finish all. Well, we did. But Joo Sie was the one who wiped the remaining. I was extremely full when I am 80% done with all the dishes.

DSC01632

Complimentary condiments

I only tried a few as I don’t like majority of them. The anchovies were overly salty as well as the preserved kimchi. To be honest, I preferred the preserved Kimchi from Kimchi Korean Restaurant more than any Korean restaurant in Brunei. The omelette was not bad though.

DSC01633

Tuna Gim Bap | B$3.50

I had my first taste of Gim Bap at Koryo Restaurant too. It was with Jia back then when I was craving for Kimchi Jeon and Jia ordered a portion of their Chicken Gim Bap. It was pretty tasteless for the both of us. But this Tuna Gim Bap was good. The tuna was mixed with mayonnaise and the preserved radish stick in the Tuna Gim Bap was crunchy and a little bit sweet and sour at the same time. Do try this if you like tuna and I am sure you’ll definitely like it. And the spinach portion was extremely generous too! This is what I loved about Koryo Restaurant, they never go skimp with their spinach.

DSC01636

Mandu | B$3.50

I actually ordered Kimchi Mandu but I think we were given Chicken Mandu instead of what I wanted. Both of us did not bother to have it changed. But we personally find the fillings to be a little bit too salty for our liking. And dipping it with the dipping sauce made them even worse. We did not realize that the filling was salty enough until put them into our mouth. Too late. We ate the rest blandly after that.

DSC01638

Kimchi Bok Eum Bap | B$4.50

This is commonly known as Kimchi Fried Rice. Joo Sie requested hers to be cooked with tuna. It was not bad actually but I find it tad bit oily for my liking. Instead of cooking it with vegetable oil, I think they cooked it with butter. The first few tastes were good but the more you consumed, the sicker you felt. But Joo Sie liked it anyways and she helped me with the final servings.

DSC01639

B$8.00

I don’t know what they called this because I don’t think the waitress gave me the right name on the bill. This is a squid dish cooked with Korean chili paste but it was not spicy at all. The spiciness was moderate. The squids were cooked to perfection. Thumbs up for this! Do try this as well if you are a huge fan of squid dish.

DSC01644

Kimchi Jeon | B$5.00

Koryo Restaurant has several versions for their pancakes and I chose this because I loved it a lot more than Hae Mul Pa Jeon. Those who like seafood might prefer the latter more than the former. I introduced this to Joo Sie and she loved it. I think she ate more of this than me. Glad that she loves what I introduced her. And again, Koryo Restaurant is generous with their spinach and I liked that they pan fried their Kimchi Jeon to the right level of crunchiness at the side.

DSC01646

Chicken Jap Chae | B$5.50

This is a potato glass noodle. I never liked Jap Chae until Seng Yee introduced it to both Jia and I at Sarang Korean Restaurant few months ago. The version at Sarang Korean Restaurant was a lot spicy and oily. But the one served at Koryo Restaurant has the right level of spiciness without burning your tongue while consuming. I ended up drinking lots of water when at Sarang Korean Restaurant.

DSC01647

Joo Sie wanted to buy a cup of bubble milk tea from EasyWay after dinner but EasyWay doesn’t provide table and chair for customers to sit back and relax. And since Joo Sie had been telling me that she’s a huge fan of sour food, I suggested her trying Mochi instead. She ordered a blueberry flavored frozen yogurt with condiments of yam and strawberry flavored mochi.

Koryo Restaurant
B11, Bangunan Lim Eng Ming,
Simpang: 88,
Kampung Kiulap,
Bandar Seri Begawan, BE1518,
Negara Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2239837

Leave a comment