Review: The Classic, Kingwood Boutique Hotel

Just came back from an overnight trip to Miri yesterday evening. The three of us – San Diann, Clara and I stayed at Kingwood Boutique Hotel this time round. We booked ourselves each a room as the bathroom looked pretty see through to me from the pictures displayed on Agoda. But it turned out to be not that see through afterall.

DSC02104

I arrived at Kingwood Boutique Hotel earlier than the two of us as they both only departed after noon time while I departed early in the morning. Left my luggage at the concierge counter and inquired about the earliest check-in time. According to the receptionist, earliest check-in is around noon time. That was one of the good things about Kingwood Boutique Hotel as some of the hotels in Miri only allow check-in after 2PM.

DSC02065

So, this is the lobby area of the hotel. A little background story here. Kingwood Boutique Hotel was first known as Rinwood Inn back in the 80’s. It was then renamed as Kingwood Inn years later. The hotel later underwent major renovation around 2015 and re-branded as Kingwood Boutique Hotel.

I used to stay at Kingwood Inn once couple of years ago and the state of the hotel was pretty bad. It was rundown and badly needed some renovation and repairs. Hotel rate was a lot cheaper than the well-known hotels nearby. I tried to persuade Mom to stay at Imperial Hotel but she insisted on Kingwood Inn due to the price tag.

I was extremely impressed with the brand new Kingwood Boutique Hotel as it looked like the hotel underwent an extreme major “facial plastic surgery”. It was as if you walked into a 5-stars chain hotel but smaller in size. Without further ado, let me show you some of the pictures of the hotel.

DSC02100

DSC02102

DSC02109

Upon entering the room, there is a big closet on your left equipped with ironing board, iron, hair dryer, bathrobes, in-room slippers and safe deposit box. The shower room area is what I loved the most in the room. It looked like a walk-in vanity area with a huge vanity mirror! The shower room and toilets are in both separate cubicles.

The shower room came with both overhead and hand held power shower. However, I do have to agree with some of the reviewers on Agoda that there is no place to place toiletries inside the shower cubicle. Perhaps the hotel management can do something about it like installing a holder or something similar?

They even provided a weighing scale and also a bottle hand wash liquid. The doors to the cubicles were frosted. So, there is no need to worry of being seen naked when showering if you are sharing the room. You can even pull down the blinds if you are feeling uneasy about it. I did albeit being alone myself. LOL!

DSC02103

Majority hotels which I had been to recently are going green to conserve our mother nature. So, it is good to see that Kingwood Boutique Hotel is doing the same thing too.

DSC02101

The bed, which is a queen sized bed with four plush pillows. The duvet was too thin for me as I am used to thick comforter at home. I felt extremely cold in the middle of the night albeit I wrapped myself up like a cocoon with the duvet.

DSC02112

You see the arrow thingy button on top of the triple switch? That is the controller for the window’s curtain.

DSC02114

I liked that the room came equipped with quite a number of socket plugs. One each on both sides of the bed.

DSC02115

The room was installed with a 42″ SHARP LED TV which you could play your own favorite drama series or movies out of your external hard disk or even flash drive. I did not know about it at first until Clara told us over our Whatsapp group chat. I brought my laptop with me so that I can do regular blog update and Internet connection was strong albeit I got the corner room.

DSC02110

The refreshment counter. There is a mini bar fridge stored inside the cabinet under the counter. Two complimentary bottles of drinking water were provided with some instant coffee and tea bags. Cups with teaspoons were provided too. However, I think it would have been better if the housekeepers placed the cups upside down for hygiene reason.

Verdict: Loved my stay this time round at Kingwood Boutique Hotel as the hotel was designed to look like a posh 5-stars hotel. Customer service was good as the staffs were friendly and courteous. Loved the design of the room as it looked as if I am staying in a posh hotel. The lighting inside the room was good as well and bonus point for the huge vanity mirror which I could make do for OOTD shots.

DSC02118

DSC02158

Location was ideal as major shopping malls are within walking distance. Lots of dining options nearby so you do not have to worry about food. Internet connection was strong when connected but it got cut off multiple times though.

A lot complained about the limited parking spaces in the area as the hotel does not have an allocated parking area for hotel guests. Some even mentioned that you have to be lucky to find one. Fortunately for us, it was not the case when we were staying at Kingwood Boutique Hotel. Both Ing and San Diann managed to get parking spaces right in front of the hotel on multiple times.

A deposit of RM100 in the form of cash or authorization hold of credit card will be required. If paid in cash, the deposit will be refunded back to you during check-out once the receptionist confirmed the state of room with the housekeepers.

As I booked my room via Agoda, the rate was a lot cheaper compared to reserving directly via the hotel website. I paid B$64.23 inclusive of tax and service charge. Walk-in rate for The Classic was RM240 if I remembered correctly.

DSC02169

A shout out to cafe-branded keepcuppers! You can now enjoy RM1 off from the cafes mentioned – The Ruffles and Brewhouse. I cannot identify the last one. Sorry!

DSC02107

Kingwood Boutique Hotel
Lot 826, Jalan Yu Sheng Utara,
PO BOX 1838, 98008,
Miri, Sarawak,
Malaysia
Tel: +6-085415888
Website: http://www.kingwoodmiri.com.my

Leave a comment