Review: Shuffle Bistro Bar

Hello there! Here comes my fourth food post on my weekend getaway trip to Singapore last weekend as promised. Whenever I am in Singapore to visit Andrea and Patrick, we would definitely have a much fancier dinner meal on a Saturday night. When I last visited them in March 2011, we went to this German restaurant called Magma, German Wine Bistro. I did not have a proper review post about the place, but you could click here if you are interested to have a look on what they have on their menu. Of course, we did not order all the food that they have on their menu but pretty much some signatory dishes that they have.

DSCF7064

Shuffle Bistro Bar operates pretty much the same like Station One Cafe, Malaysia. They will have a live band on every night except for the night when they are not operating. There are two branches of Shuffle Bistro Bar in Singapore – Clarke Quay and Albert Court Village Hotel. We went to the one at Clarke Quay since it’s more lively at night especially on weekend nights. Hahaha … Good for the eyes too if people watching is one of your hobbies. Hahaha … Not that I am a stalker, but something which I learnt from Andrea and Patrick. LOL! But bear in mind that Shuffle Bistro Bar at Clarke Quay is closed on every Sunday and every Monday for Albert Court Village Hotel.

DSCF7065

DSCF7069

Live band starts at about 8:00p.m. on every evening. Before we went Shuffle Bistro Bar, Andrea made a reservation beforehand so that we would have a table when we arrived instead of waiting outside for one. According to Andrea, the food served at Shuffle Bistro Bar were average. But it’s the ambiance and the live band that she likes. At first, I am not so keen about having dinner at a place which could be pretty noisy.

But to be honest, it turned out that I quite like it. Majority patrons went there for birthday celebration whereby the live band would sing the birthday guy or girl a birthday song. Cool, isn’t it? But it was kinda awkward coz everyone would then know that it’s your birthday. LOL! This live band is good but their gig is only on every Saturday evening from 8:00p.m. until 11:30p.m., if I am not wrong.

Anyways, let’s move on to the food. The three of us ordered light snacks to share so that we can have a taste of different food. The pictures weren’t taken at the very best quality coz the place was quite dimly lit and I couldn’t adjust the lighting and the resolution of my digital camera.

DSCF7055

Honey Wings | S$10.00

There is nothing special to rave about Honey Wings. They tasted exactly the same like the homemade BBQ Chicken Wings glazed with honey and barbeque sauce. Actually I was more interested with their Spicy Hot Wings. Unfortunately, both Andrea and Patrick have a weak stomach for hot and spicy food.

DSCF7058

Waffle Cheese Fries | S$10.00

This is crispy waffle fries topped with melted cheddar and minced beef. At first, I thought the mince beef was some kind of sauce until I dug a bit onto my plate with a fork and realized that it’s actually beef. Both Andrea and I did not have any of the mince beef and we gave it to Patrick. I am not supposed to eat beef due to religious constraint, so I would usually avoid at all cost unless I accidentally ate it by mistake. Anyways, this Waffle Cheese Fries was extremely addictive. I am not a huge fan of fries, but this was good!

DSCF7060

Grilled Chicken Mini Burger Trio | S$14.00

This is grilled chicken thigh marinated with Asian spices in a mini bun, served with Waffle Fries and Mixed Salad. To me, I don’t think there’s anything special about this. I personally think that the grilled chicken thigh wasn’t marinated long and well enough coz they tasted pretty bland to me.

Overall Rating: 8 out of 10

Verdict: Customer service was good and the food was served promptly after ordering. But unfortunately, their food weren’t good enough for me. Their strong point wasn’t the food but the live band and the ambiance. If you wanted a place to chill out, relax and listen to some good music, Shuffle Bistro Bar is a good place to hang out but don’t expect too much on their food. They were acceptable but not to die for.

Shuffle Bistro Bar
3D River Valley Road,
#02-03, Clarke Quay,
179023, Singapore.
Tel: +65 6338 9438
Website: http://www.shuffle.sg

Leave a comment