Baking #132: Sausage Rolls

Finally decided to attempt something which I had put on hold for quite some time after being unsuccessful for the first time. I seldom bake those bakery style buns apart from bread machine bread loaves. Reason being, my shaping skill is horrible. However, I thought it is time for me to learn shaping.

So, I started with Sausage Rolls as I thought it is the easiest as compared to others. All you need to do is to roll the dough into a snake like shape. LOL! The outcomes were not as pretty as compared to those posted by baking bloggers but I think mine were pretty good for a first time but definitely more space for improvement.

Without further ado, let me show you what I baked and how they turned out to be!

As mentioned in my previous blog entry, I attempted both versions of Sausage Rolls – steam and oven bake version. The former was specially customized for Mom’s preference as she is extremely ulcer prone. I had more oven baked Sausage Rolls though.

Instead of using the usual Wu Pao Chun Champion Toast which I often see baking bloggers use when making buns, I decided to go for a healthy touch and adapted recipe of Wholemeal Loaf by Grace Kitchen Corner. The recipe can yield about 15 sausage rolls.

Ingredients: 

  • 150g ice water *cold milk*
  • 15g milk
  • 1 egg
  • 30g butter
  • 30g sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 250g bread flour
  • 80g wholemeal flour *strong wholemeal bread flour*
  • 5g yeast *1 tsp instant yeast*
  • black sesame seeds *optional*

Directions:

  1. Measure all ingredients with measuring spoons and cups.
  2. Remove bread pan from bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Pour in ingredients in the following sequence – milk, egg, butter, sugar, salt, bread flour, wholemeal bread flour and instant yeast.
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Dough) and press START. Let the cycle runs for the first 15 minutes before stopping and restart the cycle again. Used 40 minutes of kneading time before the dough went into proofing stage.
  7. When the bread machine beeps, remove the proofed dough onto a floured work surface. Punch down to release trapped air and cover with a cling film to rest for 10 minutes.
  8. Divide dough into equal portion of your preference. Take divided dough and roll into long snake alike shape and wrap the dough onto pat dry chicken sausage.
  9. Place the rolls onto lined and greased baking tray for second proofing for approximately an hour. Apply egg wash and sprinkle some black sesame seeds (if desired).
  10. Bake the rolls in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 15 minutes or until golden brown.
  11. Leave rolls on a cooling rack to cool down.

These were the steamed version which I mentioned earlier on. I let them steam on medium high heat for approximately 15 minutes before removing them from the steamer.

Jennifer mentioned that the oven baked version looked more appetizing than the steamed ones. Well, I thought they were the pretty much the same. However, I did use a warmer tone on my camera when snapping the pictures of the oven baked Sausage Rolls. Taste wise, they were the same.

Leave a comment