Review: Pullman Miri Waterfront

On my previous overnight trip to Miri, I stayed at Pullman Miri Waterfront which I booked through Agoda and redeemed part of my Agoda rewards. It was a good deal to be honest. I had stayed at Kingwood Boutique Hotel twice. Despite being in strategic location and all, I still prefer a bigger room.

Pullman Miri Waterfront is everything what I dream of for a 5-star luxury chain hotel. Pullman Miri Waterfront is the second luxury chain hotel in Miri after Marriott Resort & Spa. Miri used to have Holiday Inn but it was taken over by another management and re-branded as Parkcity Everly Hotel.

Without further ado, let’s get started with my personal review of Pullman Miri Waterfront. My stay at Pullman Miri Waterfront was not sponsored. Hence, all comments of the said hotel will be based on my own personal experience.

dsc03728

dsc03729

I liked the lobby area. It was spacious and clean. The lighting was good as there was ample sunlight coming in from the outside. Check-in and out process was a brisk albeit I waited for a short while before I was being attended. A deposit of RM100 had to be secured during check-in. It could be in the form of cash or authorization hold of credit card.

dsc03730

Le Cafe is located on your right when going into the lobby area via the main entrance on the ground floor. A variety of desserts are served and their sandwiches are superb in my opinion. I had their Super Sub Sandwich and it was by far one of the best sandwiches I had. I think it was better than the ones from Subway.

dsc03700

A random picture taken inside the washroom of the lobby area. The basins looked unique and nice, aren’t they?

Without further ado, let’s get on moving with the bedroom …

dsc03673

dsc03661

dsc03662

I booked myself a Superior Room with twin beds. I was in awe the moment I stepped into the room as it was a lot bigger than what I had in mind. It was even bigger than the room which I stayed with Sister while at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai.

Each twin bed can fit two comfortably. However, I find the pillow rather too hard for my liking. Sister said I could have requested a softer pillow. Well, I did not bother to do so since it was only for a night anyways.

dsc03663

dsc03664

Bathroom was spacious as well. It came with a bathtub and overhead shower. I liked the power shower. The water flow was strong. The window came with a blind which you could peek through the outside scenery when having a soak in the bathtub.

I am not a bathtub person so I gave it a miss. I prefer bathroom with overhead shower than bathtub. I find bathtub catastrophic in my opinion. LOL! The hand held bidet sprayer was rather too tight and I had to use both my hands to press down the lock before water came spraying out.

dsc03669

Essential vanity packs were provided. As I had forgotten to bring my shampoo and conditioner with me this time round, I had to make do with the provided toiletries and the conditioner was pretty bad in my opinion. It did not leave my hair smooth albeit the good amount of conditioner that I applied onto my hair.

dsc03666

Two fluffy thick bathrobes were provided. I liked their “almost” open wardrobe concept. It acts a separator between the bedroom and the changing area. In-room safe was provided and stored inside a cabinet to safe keep your valuables.

Automatic torchlight was provided in case there is blackout in the middle of the night. Release the torchlight from the holder and the light will work automatically.

dsc03671

Another thing which I liked about the room is the digital weighing scale. Majority hotels do provide weighing scale in rooms but they are mostly the analog type.
dsc03701

If you had forgotten to bring the socket plug for your phone charger like I did, fret not. All you need is your phone cable and you could charge your phone or tablet with the USB ports provided in the room.

dsc03665

Refreshment counter was in the form of a cabinet. Complimentary bottled waters are provided with instant beverage sachets. There was a mini fridge as well but with no content.

dsc03667

dsc03705

A 42″ LCD screen was installed on the wall facing the bed. That way you could laze on the bed enjoying the ASTRO channels provided. Unfortunately, the TV did not come with USB port which you could plug in your removable device to watch drama series.

dsc03706

This is the view which I got from my room. This is considered as sea view, I guess? The building on the side is The Wharf if I am not mistaken.

Verdict: Let’s start with the room first, shall we? There was no fault which I could pick inside the room apart from the pillow being slightly too hard for my liking. Other than that, the room was perfect. The room was well maintained and clean. The window is big in size hence making the room extremely brightly lit. However, the room could be very warm in the afternoon when the sunlight shines in.

Location wise, it is strategic in my opinion as it is located in within city centre. However, it could be a bit of walking distance to the major shopping centre in the town area. Lots of eateries nearby especially around Marina Square area whereby it is very happening at night with bistro restaurants around. However, Marina Square is approximately five minutes or more walking distance from the hotel.

If you do not wish to walk far, there are a few famous restaurants across the hotel. You can find Yu Ha Hai located across the main entrance of the hotel. Yu Ha Hai is famous for their affordable seafood and there is also Silverspoon Cafe & Restaurant which is a stone throw away from the hotel main entrance.

Customer service was okay in my opinion. Check in and out procedure was fast but it could have been better. I see that there were some staffs who did not have any task in hand at the time during my check in and out but they did not bother to attend to me first until another receptionist referred me to them to avoid the long wait.

Complimentary parking was included in the room as well. Present your parking key card at the reception counter everytime before you leave the hotel and they will “void” the card so that you could leave the parking area without having to pay.

Room rate was B$75.95 inclusive of service charge and tax. I used up part of my Agoda reward points, so I only paid B$40.30 for the room. I do not mind returning to Pullman Miri Waterfront next time as I like the spacious room size. Pullman Miri Waterfront is suitable for both leisure and business travelers for the location.

Pullman Miri Waterfront
Le Cafe Pullman Miri Waterfront
Lot 1347,
Miri Waterfront Commercial Centre,
98000,
Miri, Sarawak,
Malaysia
Tel: +6-085323888

Leave a Reply

