Morning Skincare Routine 2017

I used to blog quite often in relation to skincare products but it gets lesser and lesser nowadays. I am sort of running out of topic to blog about. So, I thought what about a blog entry regarding my current skincare products? It may sound boring to some but at least it makes up for a blog entry, right? LOL!

I will be doing two blog entries for this – morning and evening. Both my skincare regimes vary as I use different products during the day and night. My daytime skincare products are much lighter in texture than my evening skincare products. I tend to use heavier texture ones so that it keeps my skin moisturized throughout the night.

Here’s a bit of disclaimer before we start. The following skincare products work well on my skin but it doesn’t necessarily produce the same outcome on other skin types. What works for me may not necessarily for you and vice versa.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Shiseido SENKA Perfect White Clay | RM15.30

This is my current daytime facial cleanser which I bought from Watsons, Miri two months ago. I like that it leaves my skin feeling and looking so clean after wash but it leaves my skin feeling tight after each wash. Despite so, it doesn’t give me any breakout to date but occasional ones when my time of the month is napproaching.

Kose Medicated Sekkisei Lotion | S$83

This never failed to be my holy grail toner of all time. I do switch to other brands of toners occasionally but they never lived up to my expectation as much as this one does. I don’t remember how I got to try this toner but I was sold and hooked once I did.

I had been using this toner for more than four years and counting. I usually stock this up from Singapore Changi Airport as it is unavailable in Malaysia as a regular product. I was informed by the BA that this size comes as a limited edition and they only have it like twice a year during sales? However, this piece of news was four years old. Do let me know if this size is now selling as a regular item at Kose in Malaysia.

Lancôme Advanced Génifique Eye Cream | RM233

I bought this from Parkson when I was in Miri for the wedding of a good friend. My eye cream at the time – The Body Shop Oils Of Life Intensely Revitalising Eye Cream-Gel was hitting bottom. I looked for reviews and got myself this since the price tag wasn’t too steep for my budget. Mom thought that skincare products would be cheaper in Singapore than in Malaysia. Well, it is indeed true for some brands but Lancôme is surprisingly cheaper in Malaysia.

EDEEM Beauty Cream | RM132

EDEEM Beauty Cream is a product which my colleague highly recommended. It works like a beauty concealer or foundation. The consistency of the product is almost paste alike but smooth. You only need a small amount for the entire face. On my first usage, I went overboard with the dosage and it made my face looking all pale. Once I get the hang of it, it makes my skin looking quite naturally flawless as it manages to cover up my pores.

Laneige Water Bank Gel Cream | RM155

My all time favorite for gel based moisturizer used to be Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief. However, I prefer Laneige Water Bank Gel Cream over Clinique’s once I started using it. I am currently on my second and I had stocked up my third on my last departure from Singapore Changi Airport.

I like that the consistency is good on my skin. The consistency is light and it gets absorbed onto my skin quickly, leaving a dewy effect look. This moisturizer works best as my daytime moisturizer but not moisturized enough as a nighttime moisturizer. I had used it as my nighttime moisturizer on a few occasions and I find it drying as I can see my skin peeling around my nose area the next day.

Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA++++ Wet Force | ¥244 

I had tried multiple brands of sunscreens but my personal favorite is always the ones from Shiseido. I liked the consistency of Shiseido’s sunscreens as well as the finishing look after application. Most of the sunscreens from the other brands break out on my skin and they usually leaves my skin an oily look finishing after application. For those of you who had tried Shiseido’s sunscreens, I’m pretty sure that you would agree with me that their sunscreens are one of the best.

Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Good Morning Retexturing Primer | B$67

I had stopped using this product few months ago when I was being informed of being discontinued. I thought it was discontinued worldwide but it turned out to be only discontinued in Malaysia. I bought this from a clearance sales at a steal price. It was retailed at S$67 per piece in Singapore but I got two for S$30 only!.

Some had been asking me what’s so good about this product that I have never stopped purchasing it. The product is marketed as a makeup primer but I use this as a finishing product after the application of my daytime skincare products. I like that it leaves a matte finishing and all you need is a red bean size per application. I recommended this product to a colleague of mine and she liked it too.

So, this basically summed up my morning skincare routine. Evening skincare routine will come shortly.

Leave a comment